Indulging in coffee and wallnuts

I have to admit once upon a time i did not like any type of dessert that had coffee in the title. When I found out that I had to give up coffee because I was pregnant, the realisation of how much I love it hit me! Those were tough times. I actually resorted to going in coffee shops, standing and staring at the cold sandwiches, pretending I was taking my time in choosing one, just to be able to breathe in the aroma of freshly ground coffee. Once the child was out and on solid food, the embargo was lifted and I thought I should make up for lost time.  This is how my love affair with coffee and walnut cake started and today I am going to share my very easy recipe with you.

img_3636

Ingredients

175g unsalted butter(room temperature)

175g castor sugar

175g self-raising flour

3 large eggs

1tsp baking powder

2 tbsp instant coffee

65 g walnuts (chopped)

Icing

300g using sugar

50g unsalted butter (softened)

125g cream cheese

2tbsp instant coffee dissolved in a small amount of water

  1. Pre heat the oven to 180C fan (350F/Gas4) and line the base of two 20 cm tins with baking/ parchment paper.
  2. Beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.img_3638
  3. Add the eggs in one at a time.( Crack in to a bowl and break the yoke with a fork. Add to the sugar and butter mixture and mix well until combined.)img_3639
  4. Combine the flour and baking powder and gently mix in to the mixture.
  5. Dissolve the coffee in to about 1tsp of water and add. Roughly chop the walnuts and fold in gently.
  6. Bake for about 15 to 20 min depending on your oven. The best way to tell if your cake is ready,  is to look at the edges. If the cake is coming away from the edge of the tin that is a sure sign it is safe to open the oven door. LEave the sponge to cool for about 15 min before you assemble and cover with icing.
  7. For the ising mix the ising suggar, unsalted butter,cream cheese (cold), coffee (disolved in to about 1tsp of water) and combine well.

img_3644

Happy baking!

 

Leave a Reply

